Menu

Drop Down MenusCSS Drop Down MenuPure CSS Dropdown Menu

ABANDONED HEADQUARTERS MILL

The abandoned Headquarters Mill was built as a rough timber mill in 1912-1913. Despite being fully equipped, however, the mill was never used for reasons that remain unclear. Some say the mill was only built so that the company could gain certain concessions from the provincial government. The recession of 1913 may have led the company to abandon it. Parts from the mill were later used to build a new mill in Courtenay.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnx43b7cwOU

Location: Comox-Strathcona C, BC V9J 1N5

Lost Attractions: Stanley Park Zoo

The Stanley Park Zoo has a long history stretching from when the park first opened until it closed in the 1990s. Today the Polar Bear exhibit sites untouched and abandoned, the last reminder of this chapter of the Stanley Park's history.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMSiOwcSWU4

ABANDONED STONE BUTTER CHURCH

The abandoned Stone Butter Church in Duncan BC is 150 years old and has sat unused for most of its existence. This church was highlighted in a 1931 Ripley's Believe It or Not article which made claims of hauntings, and that those involved in it's construction all died under mysterious circumstances.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKbhAFwpLpQ

Abandoned Mini Golf Course (Coombs BC)


Coombs BC, best known for the Old Country Market and Goats on a Roof, was once home to a Captain Billy's Adventure Golf. Years later, this abandoned mini golf course still stands in a state of decay and is gradually taken back by nature.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o6WqDG3RrfM

HAYNES HISTORIC RANCH

Visiting the abandoned remains of the Haynes Historic Ranch. Beginning in about 1865 John Carmichael Haynes began to acquire large amounts of ranch land in the Osoyoos and Oliver area. It was one of the first cattle ranches in the Okanagan Valley and he eventually amassed about 22,000 acres. Haynes also was judge as well as customs officer for the Osoyoos/US border crossing. These buildings, on the east side of the Okanagan River date from the pioneer cattle ranching era. The house dates from 1860, built for Judge John Carmichael Haynes, who died in 1888. A later addition in 1875, and again in the last years of use, it was last inhabited in 1963.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBeiZ2kWaik

Location: Okanagan-Similkameen A, BC V0H 1V7

Abandoned WWII Buildings: Point Grey Battery

The remains of the abandoned WWII buildings are still visible at Point Grey on the grounds of the University of British Columbia. Port Grey Battery was a World War II defense installation constructed to help secure the Vancouver harbor from incoming ships. The location of the Port Grey Battery is now home to the UBC Museum of Anthropology, but the historic remains can still be found just outside and down below on Tower Beach.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watchv=DgH7Iwcdieg

Nearly Abandoned International Village Mall

Located on prime real estate in Downtown Vancouver sits the nearly abandoned International Village Mall. This dying mall is has space for over sixty stores, but is mostly empty except for a movie theaters, a half filled food court, a few shops and electronics kiosks and a Catfe.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ekJl7ZTtTQ

Website: http://www.internationalvillagemall.ca/

Location: 88 W Pender St, Vancouver, BC V6B 6N9

GAS WORKS PARK

Historic Industrial buildings in Seattle's Gas Works Park Gas Works Park in Seattle Washington is a public park on the site of the former Seattle Gas Light Company gasification plant, located on the north shore of Lake Union at the south end of the Wallingford neighborhood. The park was added to the National Register of Historic Places on January 2, 2013.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W44BAGwTVWY

Website: http://www.seattle.gov/parks/find/parks/gas-works-park

Location: 2101 N Northlake Way, Seattle, WA 98103, United States

Whistler Train Wreck and Brandywine Falls

Abandoned wreckage of train cars covered in grafitti at Whistler Train Wreck Brandywine Falls Provincial Park, near Whistler, British Columbia provides visitors with a view of the 70-meter (230 ft) falls created when Brandywine Creek plummets into a deep gorge formed by millions of years of erosion.

Whistler Train Wreck is a popular tourist spot, where the remains of a sixty year old train derailment sits among the ancient trees and near the banks of the Cheakamus River. Seven boxcars have covered in colourful graffiti and then surrounded by hiking and mountain bike trails.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8OGDQCwoxs

Parkhurst Ghost Town

Parkhurst BC Abandoned Town, former logging settlement on the shores of Green Lake near Whistler BC, is littered with historical artefacts including collapsed buildings, abandoned cars, old stoves, and even an intact cabin. The town has been uninhabited since the 1960s and is slowly being reclaimed by the forest.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuPW7fPpC2M

Abandoned Homes

Test
I ran across these abandoned houses and decided to find out what was inside. Turns out there was more to the story as this was once the location of a well known roadside cafe, but also the site where a major motion picture was filmed!

Old Mill Site Park

Old Mill Site Park is along the north end of the Shoreline Trail in Port Moody, approximately half-way between Port Moody Rec Center and Old Orchard Park. This park features the remains of the McNair Cedar Mill, destroyed by fire in 1959. Visitors can still access the brick and concrete foundations at low tide. The city refers to these as "relics" of a previous era. Old Mill Site Park can also be reached as part of the Shoreline Trail that winds along the coast of the Burrard Inlet in Port Moody from Rocky Point Park to Old Orchard Park.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDaCWaZZdPU

Rat Portage Mill Site

In 1903 the Rat Portage company bought the rights to the lumber mill at the Harrison Mills BC Townsite after a fire deserted the original buildings and machinery. When the new mill was opened in 1909, it was one of BC's largest sawmills. However, after World War 1 Rat Portage decided to pull out of the town altogether, to concentrate on its mill in Vancouver. The machinery was sold and the buildings left vacant, until a fire in 1930 claimed most of what was left.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ey8xIFz1LMY

Remains of Worlds Longest Floating Bridge

In 1963, the Washington State Department of Transportation achieved a Guinness World Record when it constructed the worlds longest floating bridge which connected the cities of Bellevue and Seattle. The SR 520 Bridge, completed in August 1963 and measuring 2.39 miles in length, with a floating section stretching for almost 1.5 miles.

The bridge carried four lanes of traffic, separated by a curb that was later replaced with a simple Jersey barrier. At the center was a drawspan that opened for large vessels traversing the lake.

After serving Washington State for over 50 years it had begun to show it's age. The original Evergreen Point Floating Bridge was designed before the implementation of modern earthquake engineering standards, with vulnerabilities in its hollow support structures that could have failed in a major earthquake. Additionally, vibrations caused by storm surges and strong winds were able to compromise the aging drawspan, anchor cables and pontoons, which could lead to structural failure in a major storm. This required the bridge to close to traffic during sustained wind gusts of 50 miles per hour or higher for more than 15 minutes.

Although the original bridge carried two lanes of traffic in each direction, it did not include shoulders or pedestrian and bicycle infrastructure. The lack of a shoulder led to traffic congestion in the event of an accident, which would block one or two lanes in a given direction and block emergency services from accessing the bridge.

The new bridge was dedicated on April 2, 2016, and was certified by Guinness World Records as the new world's longest floating bridge at a length of 7,708.49 feet long, 130 feet longer than the bridge it replaced.

The bridge was deconstructed into sections 110 metres long with 25-centimetre thick walls and pontoons. It was supposed to be floated to an industrial site in Kenmore for disposal and recycling.However, the city rejected the plan, citing the possible release of toxins in the pontoon's concrete. The sections were acquired by True North Operations Group with the goal of re-purposing the pontoons as temporary or permanent docks or off-loading facilities, piers or offshore storage.

Four years later, the majority of the pontoons continue to sit unused in the Pitt River.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJNk3IQ10-Q

Barnet Mill Site

The North Pacific Lumber Company Mill known as the Barnet Mill was built in 1889 which spotted the growth of the Village of Barnet. Mills operated at that site until the 1950s and burnt down on two separate occasions. The town faded and in 1972 the land was sold to the municipality of Burnaby which turned the site into a marine park. Today you can still see a few taxes if the past including pillars and concrete foundations from the old mill.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eMfuY5_RHZI

Abandoned Pet Cemetery

This now abandoned Pet Cemetery was founded by Daniel and Mary Blair. After their dog died, they decided to create this pet cemetery, believed to be the only one in BC, which opened in 1952. Nearly 700 pets have been buried here over the years, including dogs, cats, gerbils, birds, guinea pigs, and many other species. The cemetery is currently unmaintained,  unprotected and partially-overgrown, making many of the graves hard to spot.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mo9dbijaX8g

IOCO Townsite

This now abandoned Pet Cemetery was founded by Daniel and Mary Blair. After their dog died, they decided to create this pet cemetery, believed to be the only one in BC, which opened in 1952. Nearly 700 pets have been buried here over the years, including dogs, cats, gerbils, birds, guinea pigs, and many other species. The cemetery is currently unmaintained,  unprotected and partially-overgrown, making many of the graves hard to spot.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vtRABiKYtUg

Langley Speedway

Langley Speedway was a 1/4-mile paved oval track used for stock car racing located in Langley, British Columbia. The track opened in 1965 and closed in 1984. The track hosted numerous classes of racing during its operational existence, including several visits from the NASCAR Winston West series in the 1970s. For the last few years prior to its closing due to its lease not being renewed, the track was known as Action Raceway.

The Langley Speedway Historical Society (LSHS) has lobbied governments in the area to preserve the facility, holding clean-up events at and around the track. In 2006, the GVRD Parks Committee voted unanimously to support heritage listing of the speedway. The GVRD Board also voted unanimously to support the listing. In September 2006, the Council of the Township of Langley voted unanimously to include Langley Speedway on its Heritage Resource Listing. The LSHS is currently working with the GVRD staff and other interested groups in its efforts to preserve the site and promote it for various event uses, including car shows.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eR57CfoswoM

Ladner Creek Trestle

The Ladner Creek Trestle was abandoned after the Kettle Valley Railway stopped running in the 1960's. Since then, the dilapidated trestle has become a popular hike photo opportunity for those willing to hike the unmaintained and sometimes treacherous trails.

Our Video (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nb7NF5Mq4rM